Remembering Ohio 2007

My trip to Ohio in 2007 was a combination trip.  I wanted to visit the Allen County Public Library  because I had heard so much about it.  They had just completed the new building and it was open for business.  The Federation of Genealogical Societies and APG were having their conferences in Fort Wayne and it was no contest.  I was ready!

I then realized that Ohio was two hours away. Michigan was about the same.  I could drive up to Michigan and visit several cemeteries on one of the days.  Then I would attend the conferences and after drive to Ohio and return to Fort Wayne.  I could visit Kenton in Hardin County and then onto Mount Vernon in Knox County and be able to pay my respects to my Spracklin ancestors.  Morrow County was just a few miles away and I could visit my Keller ancestors.  Okay, I was now really ready to go!

The trip was amazing and I have fond memories of Ohio.  I remember the pouring rain when my cousin and I visited the Green Valley Cemetery the first time.  Having to ask the locals where the Hedding M.E. Cemetery was located in Morrow County.  Driving along a road we thought would be a short cut and coming upon flooding and water over the road.  This meant we had to turn back and figure out another route.  Listening intently to the TV for information about the weather and more flooding.  Going around and around the roundabout in the middle of Mount Vernon.  I am joking about some of these challenges, of course.  It was a very good trip.

The following repositories were visited at that time:

Cemeteries visited:

We visited the courthouse and annex in Knox County and the staff was very helpful.

In August 2011 I will be returning to these repositories, societies, cemeteries and doing a whole lot more.  I will travel to Portage County and to Washington County, Ohio as well.  I will start my trip in Columbus so I can visit the Ohio Historical Society and other archives.  Of course, I will return to the Ohio Genealogical Society.  I am getting excited!

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Dudley Township, FAMILY SURNAMES MAIN LINE KELLER Surname, FAMILY SURNAMES MAIN LINE SPRACKLIN or SPRACKLEN Surname, GENEALOGICAL RESEARCH TRIPS, Goss Cemetery, Green Valley Cemetery, Hardin County, Hedding M.E. Cemetery, Knox County, Lee Cemetery, Lenawee County, Michigan, Morrow County, Mount Vernon, Portage County, Rice Cemetery, Washington County and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Remembering Ohio 2007

  1. Welcome to the Geneabloggers family. Hope you find the association fruitful; I sure do. I have found it most stimulating, especially some of the Daily Themes.

    May you keep sharing your ancestor stories!

    Dr. Bill 😉
    http://drbilltellsancestorstories.blogspot.com/
    Author of “13 Ways to Tell Your Ancestor Stories” and family sagas
    and “Back to the Homeplace” and “The Homeplace Revisited”
    http://thehomeplaceseries.blogspot.com/
    http://www.examiner.com/x-53135-Springfield-Genealogy-Examiner
    http://www.examiner.com/x-58285-Ozarks-Cultural-Heritage-Examiner

  2. bonmac says:

    Thank you Mr. Bill Smith!

  3. What a great trip! I am sooo jealous!
    I plan to hit Allen Co. library to…its only a 9-10 hr drive. 🙂
    Regards,
    Theresa (Tangled Trees)

    • bonmac says:

      Theresa, how nice of you to stop by. I will not be doing a big travelogue like I did for Massachusetts Meanderings but more of highlights of the trip. I have been there before several years ago and for the FGS and APG Conferences and then I headed to Ohio and it took 2 hours to get to Kenton and Mt. Vernon. The 9 to 10 sounds like a big challenge so take it easy.

Leave a Reply

