Columbus-Metropolitan Library Genealogical Collection!

    The goal in coming to Columbus was to visit the Columbus Metropolitan Public Library (main branch) in the downtown area and take advantage of their genealogy collection.  The collection is a combination of the State Library collection and Franklin County Genealogical and Historical Society collection which were transferred there several years ago.  

     Wednesday, August 17th, I spent a wonderful day at the Columbus Metropolitan Library.  It is a white brick rectangular building.  They have somehow successfully remodeled the interior while preserving the older exterior walls.  Parking is easy to find by heading for the Library Park Street to the north of the building.  It is underground and under the library and reasonably priced at no more than $10.00 a day with the first hour being free.  Getting up to the main library is also easy.  You hop on the elevator and it deposits you in the lobby area.  Take your parking ticket for you have to pay in the lobby area by the cafe or you can’t get out of the parking garage! 

     There is a small cafe area.  This was good to see because restaurants are not close to the library.  I was able to get a sandwich and a cup of coffee later in the day and not have to walk back to the car to retrieve my other stash.

Columbus Metropolitan Library - Main Branch

     The Genealogy collection is on the third floor to the left of the elevators and the staircase.  Newspapers are located on the third floor but in the opposite direction.  They have a cheat sheet printout describing their newspaper collection. 

    You can look down into the main reference area of the main library from the third floor.   The hours are more generous than other archives so you can work from 9 am to 9 pm Monday to Thursday, Friday and Saturday are 9 to 6 pm, if you so desire.  I managed up to about 6:30 pm. 

Looking down from the 3rd Floor CML

     I found the librarians to be very pleasant and helpful.  One assisted me in determining where the murder of a g-great grandparent may have occurred.  I spent most of the time working through the surname files of the Franklin County Genealogical and Historical Society.  I had called them before leaving on this trip and was told that you can get surname cross-reference lists from them that are not available at the library.  So they sent me several pages and I spent some time looking at various names and adding more surnames as I worked.  I found some interesting information but nothing to solve my genealogical puzzles.  Still it was worth checking them out.  I also consulted the nice collection of county Atlases.  Several other researchers were deep into their city directory collection. 

    I attacked their stacks of books and was pulling off piles of them to review like cemetery records for Franklin County and Knox and other books I found that looked interesting.  So if you are like me and like to browse a collection then this library is a must.  They have Ohio books and other states as well.   My interests are in Franklin, Knox, Hardin, Morrow, Portage, Montgomery and Washington Counties.  At this time I am in the process of eliminating Franklin County records.  They also had microfilm’s of Franklin County Records which I didn’t have time to review and a lot more. 

The Stacks!!!

     I left the library reluctantly but my brain was fried and drove back to Short North easily from State Street.  I decided to stop at the Giant Eagle and get a salad at their wonderful salad and olive bar.  I took it  back to the B&B to enjoy.  This Giant Eagle Market it on Buttles and Neil west of High Street and passed the park where all the dogs were having fun carrying and chasing their balls and walking with their humans. It is called Goodale Park and it is big and green. 

     It was a well spent day and I was contemplating returning.  I highly recommend this library as a stop for genealogical research.  I am pleased with the 50 Lincoln Short North B&B being nicely located and was finding it easy to get around.  I get a great breakfast and friendly conversation in the morning.  The manager and her assistant are very nice and helpful.  You probably won’t get this friendly service in the Hyatt down the street in the center of town.

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Columbus Metropolitan Library, GENEALOGICAL RESEARCH TRIPS, RESEARCH REPOSITORIES - OHIO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

