1872: Levi Goss of Lenawee County, Michigan

Levi died on 31 March 1872 in Medina Twp., Lenawee County, Michigan.  He is buried in the Goss Cemetery a little west of Morenci, Lenawee County, Michigan. 

Levi Goss Tombstone

Levi left a will.  I do not have a court copy but I do have a transcription of the will obtained by my cousin Flora Montanye Osborn.  I have tried to get Levi’s estate file and deeds but they are not at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.  Adrian is the county seat for Lenawee County so I will probably have to go there to obtain this information.  This is not unusual for the FHL, they don’t always have everything.  It would probably be a good idea to check the state archives to find out if the older estate files have been transferred there.

The will is dated June 12, 1869. The affidavit is dated January 23, 1942. The will was drawn up in Medina Twp., Lenawee County, State of Michigan.

State of Michigan – Co. of Lenawee – Probate Court for Said County

I, Hazel D. Gregg, —-Register—- of the Probate Court in and for said County to hereby certify that the foregoing is a true copy of the Last Will and Testament — in re–Estate of Levi Goss, Deceased now remaining on file and of record in the office of the Probate Court for said County, that I have carefully compared the same with said original record, and that the same is a true transcript therefrom and of the whole thereof.

In Witness Whereof, I have her unto set my hand and seal of said Court, at the city of Adrian in Said County this 23rd day of January A.D. 1942 (Signed) Hazel D. Gregg

(SEAL) (Copied in the Registrar General’s off 1/31/42 – mal.)

Copy of the Last Will and Testament of Levi Goss

In the name of God, Amen, I, Levi Goss of the Township of Medina in Lenawee County and State of Michigan, being in good health of body and of sound and disposing mind, am being desirous to settle my worldy affairs whilst I have strength and capacity so to  do make and publish this my Last Will and Testament, hereby revoking and making void all former Wills by me made at any time heretofore.

And first and principally I commit my soul into the hands of my Creator who gave it, and my body to the Earth to be interred in the burying ground known as “The Goss Burying Ground” in the Twp. aforesaid by my friends and executors hereinafter named.

And as to such worldy Estate wherewith it hath pleased God to intrust me, not heretofore disposed of by myself, I dispose of the same as follows; namely – I have heretofore give of my worldly goods, as follows, namely. To my daughter Mary now Mary Rice the sum of nine hundred dollars and to my daughter Nancy Ranger, the sum of Nine hundred dollars, and to my daughter Louisa Powell the sum of Nine Hundred dollars, and to my daughter, Amanda S. Bullock, the sum of Nine hundred dollars, and to my Sons, Andrew and Daniel the sum of Nine hundred dollars each, being all the portion of my worldly property which I think they are entitled to have, excepting as hereinafter named.

I also do hereby give and bequeath to my son Mark, the sum of one thousand dollars which said sum of one thousand dollars is to be kept at interest by my said Executor during the life time of my said son Mark, and the interest so accruing to be applied to and for the use and benefit of said Mark who is now confined in the Insane Asylum at the City of Washington in the District of Columbia. But in case the said Mark should at any time hereafter regain his health of body and sanity of mind then my said Executors are hereby authorized and requested to pay the said sum of one thousand dollars and the interest that may have accrued thereon to Mark.

Also I do hereby give and bequeath to my grandson George Baley, son of Asa Baley, now of the town of Gorham, in Fulton County, Ohio, the sum of five ($500) hundred dollars to be paid to the said George when he shall have arrived at the age of twenty one years. And finally all the rest and residue of my worldy goods, will that the same be equally divided share for share among my surviving children — or to the heirs of such of my said children as may have deceased. And I do hereby appoint Andrew Goss and Samuel M. Ranger both of the township of Medina, In Lenawee County, State of Michigan Exectuor of this my last Will and Testament.

Signed, Sealed, published and declared by the above named Levi Goss as an of and for his last will and Testament, in the presence of us, who at his request, and in his presence have subscribed our names as Witnesses thereto.

Dated June 12 A.D. 1869 Levi Goss, L.S.

  • 1st Wit. Josiah Osgood of the Township of Medina, in Lenawee County, Michigan
  • 2nd Wit. Cyrus Adams of the Township of Medina, in Lenawee County, Michigan
  • 3rd Wit. Charles Ranger of the Township of Medina, in Lenawee County, Michigan.

http://files.usgwarchives.net/mi/lenawee/land/lenawee.txt  Michigan patents for land include Levi Goss. 

I refer you to the post dated September 9, 2012 on this blog titled “Levi Goss and Sophia (Rummerfield) Goss’ Family.”  This will and that list of the children will be a very interesting comparison and show the connections of this family.

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in CEMETERIES - MICHIGAN, FAMILY SURNAMES MAIN LINE GOSS Surname, Flora Montanye Osborn 1869 to 1951, Goss Cemetery, Lenawee County, Levi Goss and Sophia Rummerfield, Michigan and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

