Genealogical Education: Revisiting Salt Lake City and the British Institute…

Templegrds

2006 Temple Square SLC

Last year in October 2013, I took the Sources for Tracing Pre-mid-Nineteeth Cemetery Ancestors course offered by the British Institute in Salt Lake City, Utah, which is sponsored by the International Society for British Genealogy and Family History. http://www.isbgfh.org/  This course was very relevant to this blog and its subject the Goss family, Spracklins and more.

The course was excellent and one of my teachers appeared on an episode this last year of “Who Do You Think You Are?”  I was very excited when I saw Paul Blake on the show.  http://www.tlc.com/tv-shows/who-do-you-think-you-are

I spent some of the time searching for my Spracklin ancestors in the Somerset and Dorset area of England.  It was very interesting.  My father’s grandmother was Amarilla Spracklin Barclay.  I was also trying to get more evidence for John Keller’s origins, he is a 3rd great grandfather.

Family History Library 2006

Family History Library 2006

This year in 2014, I will be attending the Institute again in Salt Lake City and taking Scottish Research: The Fundamentals and Beyond, by Paul Milner.  It is time for me to get serious about Scottish research. Now it does not necessarily affect the research on this blog but it is still important to my other family lines. So I am currently in the process of preparing to attend this course and getting ready for the trip. I also plan to take advantage of the opportunity to do more of the research at the Family History Library.  It will be a very intense week of classes and researching.

I will be getting back to posting on this blog some time in November 2014 and I will finish up the family of John Keller and Mary Delano Keller then the family of John and Lydia G0ss Spracklin, the rest of their children.  After this couple I will share about Peter Spracklin and Elizabeth Andrews and then start into the past of Solomon Goss himself.  There is a lot more to come.

The Line at opening to the Family History Library

The Line at opening to the Family History Library

This will be my sixth trip to Salt Lake City and the Family History Library.  https://familysearch.org/locations/saltlakecity-library  This library and their online website for their records has contributed greatly to my research successes.  https://familysearch.org/search  I do know of people who have gone there more than six times.

2009 3rd Floor Family History Library

2009 3rd Floor Family History Library

At the National Genealogical Society Conference held in Salt Lake City in 2010 Family Search announced that they would digitize their whole collection and it would take 100 years but they had created ways to improve digital transfer so they could do it in 10 years.  I was amazed.  Every time I go to their website it changes and gets better and better and sometimes more complicated.

2013 British Institute

2013 British Institute getting ready…

2013 British Institute Class

2013 British Institute Class

Well it is time to get back to planning for this trip.  One of the requirements is to read a book on Scottish History, so I best go and get my two chapters in.

The History of Scotland,” by Peter & Fiona Somerset Fry, reprinted several times 1997.

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in FAMILY SURNAMES MAIN LINE GOSS Surname, FAMILY SURNAMES MAIN LINE SPRACKLIN or SPRACKLEN Surname, TRIPS - Family History Library 2004 2006 2009 2010, 2013, 2014 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

