John and Mary Keller’s Son Henry Keller: His Estate

Henry Keller prepared a will and it was admitted to probate in Morrow County by his wife Martha.  Found in the clerk books was a petition for probate, a copy of the will, and the testimony of the witnesses and admitting the will to probate.

Morrow County Probate, Ohio, Index Vol. 1, 1848-1950, FHL#38871 pg. 265, 268, 269, 270, 272, 277, Letter K.

Keller, Henry No. 3175 Admin. Vol. 7, pg. 254, Journal Vol. 20, pg. 250, Record of Wills Vol. 9, pg. 101 no other docs; same page –

Application for Probate of Will, Probate Court, Morrow Co., Ohio

In the Matter of the last Will and Testament, of Henry Keller, Deceased, Application to admit to Probate

TO the Probate Court of said County, Your petitioner respectfully represents that Henry Keller late a resident of S. Bloomfield in said county, died on or about the 26 day of November, A.D. 1909, leaving an instrument in writing, herewith produced, purporting to be his last Will and Testament. That they Henry Keller died leaving Martha Keller his widow who resides in Sparta, O, and the following named persons his only next of kin, to-wit:

W.C. Keller, son, Sparta, O.

Alphretta Jackson, daughter, Mt. Vernon, O.

Your petitioner offers said Will for Probate and prays that a time may be fixed for the proving of the same, and that said above named persons resident in this State may be notified according to law of the pendeney of said proceedings.  Martha Keller

The State of Ohio, Morrow Co., Ss.

The above named Martha Keller being first dully sworn, says that the facts stated and allegations in the foregoing application contained, are true as she verily believes. Martha Keller

Sworn to before me and signed in my presence this 2 day of Dec. 1909. J.W. Glauner, Probate Judge, by D.D. Booher Dept. Clerk.

LAST WILL AND TESTAMENT of

Henry Keller

In the name of the Benevo Lent Father of All,

I, Henry Keller, of the township of S. Bloomfield County of Morrow and State of Ohio, being about 64 years of age, and being of sound and disposing mind and memory, do make, publish and declare this my last will and testament, hereby revoking and making null and void all other last wills and testaments by me made heretofor;

First: My will is that all my just debts and funeral expenses shall be paid out of my estate, as soon after my decease as shall be found convenient.

Second: I give, devise and bequeath to my wife Martha Keller, during her natural life time the sum of all my real estate and personal property with privilege of selling personal property, (Except one acre and one half deeded to my son W.C. Keller.)

Item Three: – I give devise and bequeath to my son Wm. C. Keller after the death of my wife the farm on which I now live purported to contain fifty four acres more or less (in fee simple.)

Item Four:  ( after the death of  my wife Martha Keller) I give devise and bequeath to my daughter Alpharetta Jackson fifty six acres of land that I bought from Easter and Polly Doty, (in fee simple).

Item Five: (after the death of my wife) I will and bequeath and devise that all of my property, real estate or personal (not here in before disposed of and remaining) shall be equally divided (share and share alike) between my children W.C. Keller and Alpherretta Jackson.

Item Six: I hereby nominate and appoint Wm. C. Keller and Alpherretta Jackson Executor and Executrix of this my last will and testament.

In Testimony whereof, I have hereunto set my hand to this last will and testament at Sparta, this 30 day of August in the year of our Lord, one thousand nine hundred and nine.  Henry Keller

The foregoing instrument was signed by the said Henry Keller in our presence and by him published and declared as and for this last will and testament, and at his request, and in his presence and in the presence of each other, we hereunto subscribe our names as attesting witnesses at Sparta this 30 day of August A.D. 1909. Wm. Stanley Pearl, Residing at Sparta, Morrow Co., Ohio and S.B. Marvin, Residing at Sparta, Morrow Co., Ohio.

The above documents were typed into the court clerk books.  This was not the probate packet which might reveal more. Family History Library has placed the probates of Ohio online so you could go and see if you could not find more documents. You will have to browse they are not indexed.

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Henry and Martha (Kees) Keller, Morrow County, South Bloomfield, Wm.C. Keller and Alphretta Jackson and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

