Benjamin Keller’s first wife Mary Keller – Her will 1833.

In the last post I shared about Benjamin Keller and his father Henry Keller of York, Pennsylvania.  Benjamin was married to Mary Keller in the year 1812. She was born May 1, 1789. It is not known if she is related to Benjamin but I think the names in her will are very interesting and the reference to the land in York County equally interesting.  I found this will in the Knox County, Ohio, probate records.

Mary Keller's Will & Proof

Mary Keller’s Will & Proof partial

Mary Keller’s Will and Proof

The State of Ohio, Knox County ) Be it remembered that heretofore to wit at a Court of Common Pleas holden before the Honorable Jacob Parker/Parkin resident Judge and Richard C. Harris, William Bevans and Isaac H. Richardson Associate Judges of said Court on the thirty first day of October one thousand eight hundred and forty four the last Will and Testament of Mary Keller was produced in Court and Wm. Bevans & Daniel Layman the subscribing witnesses ______ being in open Court duly sworn & interrogated depose & say that they saw the said dec. sign the said Will and heard her acknowledge the same to be her last Will and Testament and that in the presence and by the express direction of the Testatrix they signed the same as witnesses and the said witnesses being further interrogated state that the said Testatrix at the time of signing said Will was of sound mind and memory of full age and not under any restraint to the best of their belief. Therefor it appearing to the County that said Will was duly executed and the proof aforesaid being reduced to writing it in order that the Clerk record said Will proof which said Will and Proof read in the records and figures following to wit:

I Mary Keller of the County of Knox and State of Ohio do make and publish this my last Will and Testament in manner and form following that is to say, First, I give devise and bequeath to my beloved husband Benjamin Keller the whole of my interest of in and to a tract of land situated in Manchester Township in York County in the State of Pennsylvania about seven miles in a northwesterly direction from the town of Little York in said York County said tract of land in the Estate of Elizabeth Keller my mother who is yet living and my interest in said tract of land in common with my sisters Nancy, Magdalene Elizabeth and Susanna and my brother Christian and contains about two hundred acres the whole of my said interest is hereby bequeathed to my husband Benjamin Keller in consideration of my love and affection toward having full confidence that he will use it with care and discretion and hereafter make such disposition of it for the benefit of our children as may best conform with their several interests and necessity,

2) I give demise and bequeath to him my said husband Benjamin Keller all and every of my estate, real or personal of every description whatsoever be the same situate either in the State of Ohio or elsewhere for his own benefit and for such uses as he may deem prudent and necessary

And lastly I hereby constitute and appoint my said husband Benjamin Keller to be the executor of this my Last Will and Testament revoking and annulling all former wills by me made and notifying and confirming this and no other to be my last Will and Testament.

In testimony whereof I have hereunto set my hand and seal this tenth day of March in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and thirty-three.   Mary her X mark Keller (Seal)

Signed published and declared by the above named Mary Kelly as and for her last Will and Testament in presents of us who at request have signed as witnesses to the same. Wm. Bevans, Daniel Shaman/Lhaman.

Proof:  On the 29th day of October A.D. 1844 the last Will and Testament of Mary Keller late of the County of Knox deceased was produced in Open court and William Bevins and Daniel Layman personally appeared in Open court begin the subscribing witnesses to said will and being duly sworn and interrogated depose and say that they saw the said deceased sign the said will and heard her acknowledge the same to be her last will and testament and that in the presence and by the expressed direction of the Testatrix they signed the same as witnesses. And the said witnesses being further interrogated state that the said testatrix at the time of signing said Will was of sound mind and memory of full age and under no restraint to the best of their belief. W. Bevans and Daniel Layman. Sworn to and subscribed in open Court H.S. Miller, Dept. Clerk.  

Summary of this post:  I find this will to be very interesting.  The land in York Co., Pennsylvania is a great link back to that location.  I am also interested in her references to her family. She mentions sisters Nancy, Magdalene, Elizabeth and Susanna and a brother Christian.  It gives her mother’s name as Elizabeth Keller? Does this mean that Mary is a Keller? Unfortunately the book: The Descendants of Henry Keller does not give any details about Mary.  (Note: I believe it is two sisters names Magdalene and Elizabeth hard to tell from the handwriting.)

There is no stone for her that I can find listed on Find A Grave to verify her dates.

It is also amazing that they waited till 1844 to probate the will. She died in 1834.

I believe that taking a serious look at Benjamin Keller and Mary his wife is a good idea and the origins of both individuals.

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in FAMILY SURNAMES MAIN LINE KELLER Surname, Knox County, Pennsylvania, York County and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

