Delano Kindred Reunion 2015, San Diego, California

Hello, well I am back from San Diego and the Disneyland Resort in Anaheim. Had a fun but exhausting trip.  Unfortunately, my husband got hit by a pedicab and both ankles were hurt. He is recuperating now.

The 2015 Delano Reunion was held at the Handlery Hotel in San Diego.  It is on the north side of what is called Hotel Circle along I-8.  It was a nice hotel and the hotel staff where very kind and helpful to us when my husband got hurt, finding an Urgent Care facility for him to go to and getting us a taxi.

Handlery Hotel Sign

Handlery Hotel Sign

The first day the Delano Kindred met in one of the rooms by the pool for the genealogy session.  Unfortunately Muriel C. Cushing could not make it to this reunion so Terry Delano took the lead.  Terry had George De Lano share about a project to get the land records for the Plymouth Colony published.  Some had been done but nothing had been done since the Civil War.  It would be a big project and would take several project groupings to complete.  He was asking for funds to be allocated to help the Leiden American Pilgrim Museum Foundation (LAMP Foundation) get this completed. Dr. Jeremy Bangs has copies of the deeds.  They need someone to be able to read them and interpret the handwriting.  All this is in waiting for funds to move the project forward.

Sign for the Reunion

Sign for the Reunion

The T-Shirt is nice in dark blue with gold letters and the anchor symbol on the front for $15.00 which is a good price for a T-Shirt. My husband thought their pin was also beautiful.  They had the green books and several of the GHAAHD large genealogy.  I have all of these books so I was good.

Delano Kindred books, T-Shirts and more.

Delano Kindred books, T-Shirts and more.

One of my goals to find out how to pronounce the surname of Delano.  Well it is apparently pronounced as each person wishes or as it has evolved.  They were teasing each other. George is “De Lano” while Terry is formally “Delano.”  There was man there with the last name of Dillinger and he explained that the name evolved to this spelling. The marriage record I have of Lovina Delano reads “Dillinoe” when she married Jonathan Askins after the death of her husband Stephen Delano in 1818.  This means that when you meet a Delano descendant you ask them how they pronounce it and go from there.

I do know one thing, I am not really up on Delano history and I can see that I may need to do more study in this area. They were all very proud of their Delano heritage that is for sure.  The European Educational Research Program was searching for information on the Du Bu family which is apparently Philip Delano’s mother’s family.  I do not have these older families on my Legacy Database and may have to do some updating.

The next topic of the genealogy session was DNA. Terry wants to get more people tested with the yDNA 67 markers and upgrade others because he has had a complete profile on himself done by Family Tree DNA and they have discovered an unusual marker on his profile and he thinks it might open doors.  Currently the European Research is stalled because of a lack of records at Leiden.  Carolyn Clark (Membership) will be helping with this DNA testing.  So funds needed to be allocated to this project.

Delano Kindred Genealogy Symposium

Delano Kindred Genealogy Symposium

There was a new member who was having trouble finding his Margaret Delano in the records.  He had been researching in Maine repositories but was stuck.  He was appealing for help. Unfortunately I don’t remember all that he said.

Later that evening we gathered for the Welcome Dinner and to listen to a speech given by a representative of the San Diego History Center (newly renamed).  He talked about a Henry Delano Fitch and another Delano ancestor.  It was a fun talk and very interesting also including the history of San Diego.  The dinner was delicious and I got to sit next to the speaker and hear his stories of Ireland and more.

Delano Kindred Welcome Dinner

Delano Kindred Welcome Dinner

The next morning was the Delano Kindred Membership and Business Meeting.  I was very impressed with the knowledge and dedication of the officers and members to the study of the Delano heritage using the land deeds, DNA and more.  Elections were held and Terry Delano was voted as President.  All this will be written up in the newsletter sent to members and posted on the website under the Membership only area, I believe. They have ideas about the next reunion, maybe Rhode Island, Colorado for the next and then another location I cannot remember.

Membership is very reasonable in this society and you don’t necessarily have to have a complete genealogy and appeal for help.

http://www.delanokindred.us/Wordpress/membership-options-page/dues-structure/

Delano Kindred Yearly Business meeting 2015

Delano Kindred Yearly Business meeting 2015

At 12:45 we climbed aboard a shuttle that took us to the tour of the U.S.S. Midway.  An aircraft carrier that was turned into a museum in the San Diego harbor.  It is apparently very popular because there were a lot of people at the site.

U.S.S. Midway Tour - Delano Kindred 2015

U.S.S. Midway Tour – Delano Kindred 2015

Delano Kindred gather on U.S.S. Midway tour

Delano Kindred gather on U.S.S. Midway tour

Here is the link to the online website for the U.S.S. Midway: http://www.midway.org/

You can get a free audio tour guide and walk the entire tour of the ship with it.  It had supplemental information, like stories of the men who served aboard this vessel.  George said it was commissioned about 1945 at the end of World War II.  It was very muggy down inside the ship and quit hot on the flight deck.  I found a bench under a wing of an aircraft and just rested.

The Midways lower area and the doors you have to walk through...

The Midway’s lower area and the doors you have to walk through…

In the photo below is the flight deck which they have exhibits of different aircraft situated.  You can also see other aircraft in the hanger area as well and it is a lot cooler in temperature.

Flight Deck U.S.S. Midway

Flight Deck U.S.S. Midway

My husband took off to go up the tower.  George De Lano said it was a 30 minutes tour with a waiting before because only so many can get up the tour at once.  I walked back to the shuttle pick up with George and we chatted about many things.

This is when my husband was hurrying to run back to get our shuttle and got hit by the pedicab. The young man was very sorry for running into him.  Of course, Alan, did not realize he was hurt till the blood filled his shoe.  I should not have left him.  He always gets hurt when I do. AUGGH!

The situation was a little iffy about whether we could be in the group picture and attend the Delano Kindred Luau Dinner at the hotel in the Garden Room area.  This is outside. However, it worked out.  My husband and I returned after visiting an Urgent Care facility for his wound and were able to go to the remaining Delano Reunion festivities.

Alan, my husband, helped with the group photo for the Delano Reunion.  Several members were drifting into the reunion and so there are many versions of this group photo.  I present only one here with me in it. I gave the rest of the photos to Terry Delano the President and he will take care to disperse them.  I will also be giving George De Lano the photos I took for the newsletter.  I am there on the right in the back behind Dick Wolf in the bright orange top.

Delano Kindred Reunion 2015

Delano Kindred Reunion 2015

The dinner was outside in the Garden area of the hotel and it was a cool and lovely evening.  I sat next to Dick and his wife, Carol Wolf.  His mother was a Delano and he sponsored the first reunion and has been coming every year to these reunions.  He lives in New York near Buffalo and I told him about my trip last September 2014 to Ontario and New York.  It took awhile but I finally remember Herkimer as the town I stopped in to have a lovely breakfast in a train car.  We chatted about Niagara Falls he knows the history of that area. He gave me a tip about the finger lakes but I was on I-90 going west to Buffalo to go home so I missed that area.  We had fun sharing about New York.  Very nice people.

The next photo is not the best but at least it gives you an idea of the dinner at Saturday and the setting.  I don’t think I have ever had a conference dinner outside in a lovely garden.  It was very nice.  The dinner was a buffet and Alan had two huge dinner plates. I guess trauma does that to you.

Saturday nights Dinner of the Delano Reunion 2015

Saturday nights Dinner of the Delano Reunion 2015

The next morning at 8:30 am the Board members would meet to discuss business. I was not a member of the board so I didn’t have to attend.

I am pleased, this was something that I have wanted to do for a long time. I am content.

Muriel was not there and I am a little sad about not meeting her but Terry had her database with him.  I understand that you can contact her and discuss your lineage.  I had a big thick packet to give her of my lineage to Philip Delano of the Fortune.  I will mail it to her now and hope to hear from her.

It was a lot of fun, the Delano Kindred are fun people, happy people and very proud of their lineage to Philip Delano.

Meanwhile, Alan and I had to figure out what to do about his accident wound and how to get our money out of the trip we had been planning to Disneyland for a good couple years.  Fortunately the Paradise Pier Hotel at the Disneyland Resort was able to provide a scooter for my husband to use and he could take it all over the area to Down Town Disney, Disneyland and the California Adventure during the stay. It was $40 a day but totally worth it.  We just went up to the Guest Services at the Paradise Pier and got help.

If you want to know more about this trip which included a visit to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, the Oceanside Pier and the Disneyland Resort you will have to go to my Facebook wall and see what happened.  So I guess that means you will need to friend me on Facebook.

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in California, Delano Kindred, Delano Kindred Reunion 2015, FAMILY SURNAMES MAIN LINE DELANO Surname, Stephen Delano & Lovina Smith, Trip to Ontario & Quebec in 2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

