Ebenezer Goss and Letters to Rufus Putnam about land in Marietta – 1796

Land Office Sign in Marietta

Land Office Sign in Marietta

Ohio Co. Land Office, Marrietta

Ohio Co. Land Office

The Marietta College has a Special Collections department.  There are online digital records of The Ohio Land Company and more.  The college keeps changing the url for the Special collections, so put Marietta College special collections into Google and you should find the information.  I do have a link to it on the right side of this blog under Categories: Research Repositories.

Special Collections have the records of one of the main officers of the company, Rufus Putnam.  I have written a little about Rufus Putnam in this blog. I saw his house that is preserved by the Campus Martius Museum.  I visited his grave in Mound Cemetery in Marietta.  Rufus lived, in several places throughout his life and one of those was in North Brookfield, Massachusetts. On my trip to Massachusetts in 2011, I was in the Brookfields and decided to drive up to North Brookfield to see if I could find the land that Rufus Putnam lived on.  I present that visit at the end of this post.

I found two letters of interest under the digital documents for the Ohio Company written by a Mr. Tallmadge (another officer of the company). He was writing to Mr. Putnam, from Litchfield, Connecticut and in the letter he mentions an Ebenezer Goss.

Letter oneBenjamin Tallmadge letter to Rufus Putnam, Tallmadge is writing from Litchfield, Connecticut and reports that Moses Johnson, Uri Scovill, and Ebenezer Goss are determined to settle in the Ohio Company’s purchase. He gives details of their arrangements with him as to the land and makes special note of Johnson’s entitlement to a donation lot, “when he has satified [sic] you of his residence.” Dated June 17, 1796.  Series 2, Box 1, Folder 04, Item 06_0001.

Letter two: Benjamin Tallmadge to Rufus Putnam dated June 20, 1796. Tallmadge refers to the act of Congress concerning the sale of lands on the Ohio; believes that surveying will be in high demand. Congress has not yet acted on leasing the college lands, etc.; a reference to the settlement “up the Hockhocking River.” He makes comments on national politics and President George Washington. He also sent off two wagons with families for Marietta and directs the disposition of his four donation lots. Listed as subjects are: Ebenezer Goss, Moses Johnson, Uri Scovil. Series 2, Box 1, Folder 04, Item 07_0004.

Ebenezer Goss was a younger brother of Solomon Goss.  I have tried in my Ohio research to find a connection between them in a deed, court document, land records, newspapers, history books but nothing has surfaced except these two letters.  Ebenezer Goss was looking for land in Washington County very close to when Solomon Goss was at Dayton. You can see that the letters are dated 1796.  Did the two brother’s correspond about this subject?  It is fun to speculate.

I did not find any other documents in the files at the special collections in Marietta mentioning Goss names other than the two letters above.  Ebenezer Goss lived in Litchfield Co., Connection before he headed to Ohio.  He eventually settled in Portage County, Ohio about 1804. I will share my findings about Ebenezer in future posts.  I did write about my visit to Portage Co. on this blog if you are interested simply put the keywords Portage County in this blog’s search engine.

====================================================

My trip to North Brookfield:

Did Rufus Putnam know the Goss family, probably. He might have known Solomon’s great grandfather, Capt. Philip Goss. Both men were involved with the military in some capacity.

Here is a little from my visit to North Brookfield in search of Mr. Putnam’s land. It is from my Massachusetts Meanderings Blog April 13, 2011. (I will retire the Mass Blog as I incorporate it into this blog about Solomon.)

I was going in search of the plaque commemorating the home of Rufus Putnam.  Rufus Putnam founded Marietta, Ohio.  Marietta, Ohio is where Solomon Goss and Olive Scott Goss settled after leaving Pennsylvania.  It is just too coincidental to be ignored.  Solomon Goss is a son of Philip and Mary Kendall Goss.

Rufus had land next to and overlooking Horseshoe Lake in North Brookfield.  I drove on a regular two lane highway till I turned off onto Oakham Road and then I turned onto Rufus Putnam Road.  The road started to get rough, pot marked, and covered in some areas with loose gravel.  I found Horseshoe Lake which is reserved for the drinking water of the area and has all these signs posted all other warning people not to swim or play in the lake.  I was trying to decide if I wanted to go up this hill.  A van came down it at a fast clip so I could tell it was not too bad. So I took the plunge. I got to the top of the hill and to my surprise there actually was a marker for the Rufus Putnam home.  The view was wonderful of Horseshoe Lake and the surrounding area.  I can’t believe I found the plaque!  WOW!! Try this article about him:  http://digicoll.marietta.edu/oca/background/biography/putnam_rufus.html

Horseshoe Lake
Site of Rufus Putnam’s homestead – hmmm…can’t read it…
Rufus Putnam Road
Horseshoe Lake Looking Down from about Rufus Putnam’s Land
About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Capt. Philip Goss II & Judith (Hayward) Goss, Ebenezer Goss, Marietta, Marietta College Special Collections, Mound Cemetery in Marietta, Solomon Goss and Olive (Scott) Goss (Son of Philip & Mary (Kendall) Goss, Washington County and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

